Department of Mechanical Engineering - Faculty of Engineering, KDU

Department – Industry Consultative Board (DICB) for the Year 2023

October 19, 2023
Site Admin

The "'"Department - Industry Consultative Board for the year 2023 of the Department of Mechanical Engineering was held successfully on October 17, 2023, at FGS Conference Hall, KDU, Ratmalana. Industry professionals representing a wide scope of industries participated in the DICB 2023, along with academic staff from renowned universities in Sri Lanka. The objective of this DICB 2023 was to focus on "'""'"Improvement of Mechanical and Mechatronic Degree Curriculum"'""'".  

DICB 2023 began with the welcome speech by Prof. Thushara Weerawardane (Dean, Faculty of Engineering), followed by the department presentation by Captain (E) DS Bogahawatte (Head of the Department, Department of Mechanical Engineering). Then, a briefing on BScEngHons in Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering programmes was conducted by Mr. Isira Naotunna (Senior Lecturer / Programme coordinator – Mechanical Engineering).

The following areas were mainly discussed during the event:

  • Revising the current 150 academic credits to 130 academic credits
  • Reducing the number of two credit modules
  • Elective modules to be introduced
  • Project-based modules for the degrees from semester 3
  • Introducing the contents of ‘Artificial Intelligence’ and ‘Data Science’ from semester 3 onward modules
  • Laboratory equipment needs to be purchased.

DICB 2023 concluded with a vote of thanks by Mrs. Imesha Piyumini (Lecturer (Prob) / Level 3 coordinator – Mechatronic Engineering).

The following distinguished personnel from the Sri Lanka Navy, Sri Lanka Army, and industries, as well as academic experts from the Universities, attended the DICB 2023.

  1. Lt Col JPPP Muthumala Lsc, Directorate of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, Sri Lanka Army.
  2. LCdr (E) SMKTB Samarathunga, Senior Staff Engineer Officer (Training), Sri Lanka Navy.
  3. S.U. Adikary, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa.
  4. C.D. Gamage, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa.
  5. P.K.W. Abeygunawardhana, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, SLIIT Malabe Campus.
  6. J.R. Gamage, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa.
  7. D.K. Prasanga, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa.
  8. R.K.P.S. Ranaweera, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering, University of Moratuwa.
  9. Wg Cdr PD Jayasundara (Retd.), Deputy General Manager, State Pharmaceuticals Manufacturing Corporation.
  10. Captain LLA De Silva (Retd.), Director, Engineering, Michelin Lanka (Pvt) Ltd.
  11. Janaka Wijekoon, Director, Engineering, Atlas Axillia Company (Pvt) Ltd.
  12. Cdr AKCL Gunasekara (Retd.), General Manager (Marine & General Engineering), DIMO PLC.
  13. KLJP Liyanage, Associate Director, Ansell Lanka (Pvt) Ltd.
  14. Chinthaka Herath, Manager, Engineering, Lankem Ceylon PLC.
  15. Laknath Alvis, Head of Projects, Tantri Trailers (Pvt) Ltd.
  16. Dayan Marabedda, Head of Engineering, Consumer Brands – Hemas Manufacturing (Pvt) Ltd.
  17. HMDL Dabare, Senior Autonomation Engineer, MAS Intimates (pvt) Ltd.
  18. DCC Kulawardhana, Assistant Engineer (Training & Development), Colombo Dockyard PLC.