Department of Mechanical Engineering - Faculty of Engineering, KDU

IMechE Student Chapter of KDU


IMechE Student Chapter of KDU was established in 2022 by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, with the approval of the University. The IMechE strives to be the globally recognized authority in Mechanical Engineering supporting a global engineering community. It serves as a platform to develop professional Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineers and to enhance the teamwork and leadership skills of undergraduates.

Since then, it has been adding vivid experiences to the student life and a greater platform for the undergraduates by organizing guest lectures, workshops, competitions, social outreach activities, industrial days and exhibitions with the blessings of the university. These activities increase the creativity and soft skills of the students and facilitate the development of a Mechanical Engineer who is responsible to society.


Any student enrolled in the Bachelors of the Science of Engineering degree programme, specializing in Mechanical Engineering and Mechatronic Engineering at KDU are eligible for membership of the society.

Executive Committee

Annual General Meeting of IMechE Student Chapter of KDU was held on 17th of January 2024 at 3.00 p.m. at FGS Auditorium with the presence of Eng. Lal Weerasinghe, Chairman of IMechE Sri Lanka Group as Chief Guest, Eng. Chanaka Wanniarachchi, Chairman of the Southern Asia Regional Committee of IMechE as Guest of Honour, Prof. Thushara Weerawardhena, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Captain DS Bogahawatte, Head of the Department, and Lecturers from the department of Mechanical Engineering. The executive committee members were elected during the meeting as follows.

PresidentDSSathiyaseelan Leninnath
Vice PresidentOCMovindu Abeysinghe
SecretaryDSManuka Madawalage
Asst SecretaryOCPAM Tharaka
TreasurerDSNimsara Munasinghe
Assistant TreasurerDSTharindu Dilshan
Publicity OfficerDSJB Athapatthu
Website OfficerDSThilina Perera
Newsletter EditorDSSanodya Guruluwana
Design ChairOCSachith Dilshan
Educational ChairDSMandira Perera
Technical ChairDSChamodya Somirathna
Event CoordinatorDSVisal Peiris
 DSU.G.Y Shaleen
MembersDSNethmi Kandamulla
DSDakshina Samya
DSJayavi Subhasinghe
OCPoshitha Jayantha
DSSukitha Gamage
DSGawiru Wijesiriwardhana
Design Vice-ChairDSGamith Ariyarathna
Educational Vice-ChairDSManishi silva
Technical Vice-ChairDSNadith Jayawardene
Design MemberDSKavinda Deshan
DSThamindu Vishwajith
DSSakith Senanayaka
DSRochana Lokubalasuriya
DSSADRP Suraweera
Educational MemberDSShenali De Silva
DSPasan Peris
DSJanidu Balasuriya
DSMinindu Wijerathne
OCJanitha Separamadu
Technical MemberDSKojitha Methsika
OCGeeth Kumarasinghe
DSMinindu Edirisinghe
OCKGU Dilshan
DSUdul Jayasinghe

News & Events

October 26, 2023
July 19, 2023
April 26, 2023
October 08, 2022