The Inaugural Annual General Meeting of the IMechE Student Chapter of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University

Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) is an engineering professional body with over 115,000 members in 140 countries around the world with a mandate to promote and uplift the Mechanical Engineering Profession. The IMechE strives to be the globally recognized authority in Mechanical Engineering supporting a global engineering community.

The Inaugural Annual General Meeting of IMechE Student Chapter of KDU was held on 16th of March 2022 at 3.00 p.m. at FGS Auditorium, KDU. Eng. SU Dampage, Dean, Faculty of Engineering was the chief guest of the event and Mr. Lal Weerasinghe, Chairman of IMechE Sri Lanka Group graced the occasion as the guest of honour. The Heads of Departments of the Faculty of Engineering, Academic Staff of the Mechanical Engineering participated in this event. Over fifty undergraduates from intakes 37, 38 and 39 were there to witness this glorious event.

The meeting was inaugurated by lighting the traditional oil lamp followed by reciting the KDU anthem and having a moment of silence for the fallen war heroes. The Academic Liaison Officer of the Chapter, Dr.RMPS Bandara delivered the welcome address. Engineer SU Dampage Dean FOE inspired the audience with his speech by sharing his experience and valuable life lessons. The keynote speech was delivered by Mr. Lal Weerasinghe.

The main event of the day, nomination of the very first committee of the IMechE student chapter took place after the keynote speech. A set of young, ambitious individuals were appointed to carry out the future work of the chapter. The newly appointed president SCQMS MSM Marshad addressed the gathering displaying ambition and hope and informed about the future events of the chapter.

The past committee members of the Mechanical Mechatronic Engineering Society were appreciated during this event for their contribution to the society. Their letters of commendation was distributed by Captain Dinuk Bogahawatta, Head of Department Mechanical Engineering accompanied by Dr.RMPS Bandara ALO of the Student Chapter.

The vote of thanks was delivered by the newly appointed Secretary, Miss.Helani Batuwantudawa. The gathering was dispersed after the National Anthem