About The Faculty


The Faculty of Engineering is one of the largest Faculties at KDU which consists of six Departments and an Industrial Training Unit catering for around 900 undergraduates. The Faculty was established in 2011 and strives to maintain highest standards of educat¬ion for the officers, officer Cadets from the tri-services and Day Scholars to be readily employable in the industry.
The Faculty conducts nine undergraduate degree programmes, which are benchmarked, as per standards established by the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka (IESL). The Faculty focuses on producing Engineering graduates who have acquired main generic attributes related to engineering knowledge, problem analysis, investigation and design of solutions for diverse domains of problems.
The Engineering degree programmes are conducted by a team of qualified internal academic staff, visiting lecturers from other reputed Universities and experienced Engineering Professionals from the industry. The Faculty of Engineering has extended its contribution by offering postgraduate programmes in the fields of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering and Civil Engineering.


  • Department of Aeronautical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical, Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering
  • Department of Marine Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Industrial Training Unit